Define E-Learning. State Benefits of E-Learning.

All of us have access to the internet and we use it for many different things like researching for some information for school and college projects, downloading music, pictures, wallpapers, emails, instant messaging, chats, and many other things. 

One can educate oneself in the comfort of their own home and get a degree through the internet now. With the latest technology, even the impossible seems possible now.

E-Learning, or electronic learning, is the delivery of learning and training through digital resources. Although eLearning is based on formalized learning, it is provided through electronic devices such as computers, tablets and even cellular phones that are connected to the internet.


Benefits of E-Learning

E-learning saves time and money. With online learning, learners can access content anywhere and anytime. E-learning is also cost-effective; companies save a substantial amount on the travel and accommodation costs of both learners and instructors, as well as the venue and materials.


SWAYAM (meaning 'Self') is a Sanskrit acronym that stands for "Study Webs of Active-Learning for Young Aspiring Minds" is an Indian Massive open online course (MOOC) platform. The platform offers free access to everyone and hosts courses from class 9 till post-graduation. SWAYAM is a programme initiated by Government of India and designed to achieve the three cardinal principles of Education Policy viz., access, equity and quality. The objective of this effort is to take the best teaching learning resources to all, including the most disadvantaged. SWAYAM seeks to bridge the digital divide for students who have hitherto remained untouched by the digital revolution and have not been able to join the mainstream of the knowledge economy.

Courses delivered through SWAYAM are available free of cost to the learners, however learners wanting a SWAYAM certificate should register for the final proctored exams that come at a fee and attend in-person at designated centres on specified dates.

In order to ensure that best quality content is produced and delivered, nine National Coordinators have been appointed. They are:

• AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education) for self-paced and international courses

• NPTEL (National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning) for Engineering

• UGC (University Grants Commission) for non-technical post-graduation education

• CEC (Consortium for Educational Communication) for under-graduate education

• NCERT (National Council of Educational Research and Training) for school education

• NIOS (National Institute of Open Schooling) for school education

• IGNOU (Indira Gandhi National Open University) for out-of-school students

• IIMB (Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore) for management studies

• NITTTR (National Institute of Technical Teachers Training and Research) for Teacher Training programme

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !